Thursday, March 25, 2010


Veracruz, formally Veracruz de Ignacio de la Llave is one of the 31 states that constitute the United Mexican States. Veracruz is borderd by Tamaulipas to the north, the Gulf to the east, Tabasco to the southeast, Oaxaca and Chiapas to the south and Puebla, Hidalgo, and San Luis Potosi to the west. With a population of 7 million the state holds the third place in the nation.
The capital is Xalapa, other important cities include Veracruz, Coatzacoalcos and Orizaba.
Veracruz is located in the east-central part of Mexico, between 17°10 and 22°38 North and between 93°55' and 98°38' West. It has a mainland area of 71,641 km2 (27,661 sq mi) and includes several islands in the Gulf of Mexico totalling a further 58 km2 (22 sq mi).
Veracruz borders the states of Tamaulipas to the north, Oaxaca and Chiapas to the south, Tabasco to the southeast, Puebla, Hidalgo, and San Luis Potosí to the west, and the Gulf of Mexico to the east.
In the coastal plains and throughout most of the state, the climate is hot and humid. In the foothills of the mountains, the climate is cool and humid. The climate only becomes cold in the mountain regions, where it also rains copiously. Veracruz is occasionally affected by hurricanes.
Veracruz has a tropical climate and impressive natural scenery, such as the Citlaltépetl Volcano , the highest peak in the nation. There are picturesque cities and towns that have preserved their local architecture. Along the coast is the Costa Esmeralda, a 50 kilometers (31 mi) beach strip north of the port, and the archaeological zone of El Tajín, which has been declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site.
The capital of Veracruz is Xalapa, located in the central western part of the state. With more than 7 million inhabitants, the state of Veracruz is the third most populous in the nation, after the Federal District and the State of Mexico.

No comments:

Post a Comment